M.F.K. Fisher Awards for Excellence in Culinary Writing

The M.F.K. Fisher Awards for Excellence in Culinary Writing honor Mary Frances Kennedy Fisher, a widely read and lauded culinary writer. Nine awards are presented annually. In 1992, M.F.K. Fisher gave LDEI permission to Les Dames d'Escoffier International to present awards in her name. These awards are given to women writers whose published works reflect creativity and insight, and illuminate the pivotal roles of food, fine beverage, and the arts of the table or contribute to our knowledge of those who grow, produce or prepare nourishment. Their works must be original, published in English during the current award year and no longer than 2,000 words.

Stories written during 2018 may be entered in the 2019 contest beginning in January, 2019.



  • To honor the accomplishments of M.F.K. Fisher and to showcase her contributions to gastronomy
  • To give recognition to a woman who is engaged in significant culinary writing


Categories & Prizes
Nine Cash Awards and Certificates are chosen annually.

Three Prizes are awarded in each Category:

  • Book
  • Print (newspaper and magazine) and
  • Internet


  • First-prize of $500 (USD) goes to the category winner
  • $100 for second prize and
  • $50 for third prize

She receives:

  • Additional $500 (totaling $1000)
  • One round trip (coach class) airfare to the LDEI conference city to receive her award in person (mandatory) at an awards breakfast
  • A seat at the awards breakfast for herself and one guest

Grand Prize Winner - the "Best of the Best"
One of the three category winners is judged to "The Best" of the three category winners

For more information about M.F.K. Fisher Awards, email CiCi Williamson at mfkfisher18@aol.com.

Copyright © 2019